✨ My Angular Certification journey

✨ My Angular Certification journey

About AngularTraining

AngularTraining.com teaches Angular all over the world, on-site at your office.

The Angular Certification

It is an exam online to become a certified Angular developer. They offer three levels of certification, from beginner to expert developers.

You can check what's the level for you here. I choose to pass the intermediate one, Level2.

Process:

  • Online quiz - Score of 70% required to pass (25 minutes)
  • Coding exercise - Write a small app (3-4 hours)
  • Interview - Answer questions about your app (15-20 minutes)

My journey

The beginning

First, I was in a small group of my company to pass the certification. Some of my colleagues were front-end developers experimented with, others were newbies like me.

So I over-expected the level of this certification cause of the experience difference that I was facing in the discussion as I am not really a "standard" front developer but more a full stack developer.

Step 1: the quiz

With little experience with Angular (let's say 10% of my current job project since October), I had to rush a lot of content of Angular such as javascript, typescript, configuration, basic of angular (components, pipe, directive), routing, HTTP request, and RxJS.

Thanks to this pressure, my quick learning skills, and Pluralsight, I had access to very good courses to rush everything I wanted to learn.

Thanks to the "learning check" section, I could quickly test my knowledge regarding a course and review only the part where I was not good enough to retest the short quiz.

Before running the quiz, I did a Skill IQs test in some categories to be more confident for the test.

Finally, after 2 weeks of big training, I pass and succeed in the quiz with 82% which is a good score!

Step 2: the app to build

As the first part was mandatory, I put a lot of effort into training for the quiz.

But the app to build stole my time and my sleep as well. Basically, I tried to implement a lot of "optional features" to show my skills but in the end, I choose to revert all the changes. I prefer to keep the required feature to demonstrat during the interview and to not have any "side effects/weird behavior" that could risk the certification process to fail.

I had a lot of difficulties with RxJS cause it was not something I used a lot in my previous projects. But it's definitely a strong skill to have that can facilitate a lot of development if you master it.

I spend 15-20 hours building/destroying and rebuilding the app.

Step 3: the interview

I use to stress a lot for any interview, so I did for this one. But the person I talk to were very friendly and I had a fun time talking about Angular or my project and focusing on the tech like what patterns to use? which new features would you like to implement? what about the optional modules? new features coming with the new version of Angular that was released just a few weeks ago.

I think when we "work" or dev for the job, we don't really have this kind of moment or opportunities where you can ask stupid questions or listen about someone else experience.

That's what I really liked about the journey of this certification, discussing with my group, learning and building on my own for something that were really important to me, talking to people to realize that I can do great thing when I do it with passion ;)

Certification

Capture.PNG