🚀 Dev Retro 2022 as full-stack web developper

🚀 Dev Retro 2022 as full-stack web developper

My journey as a developer in 2022

This year had a good start with a new project and ended kind of boring technically speaking. Fortunately, I keep the motivation to continue self-teaching of React and Angular.

At my job, I worked on a full-stack Angular / Spring project for a year and I thought it would have been my best year full of knowledge improvement, and experience in diverse processes and design patterns. I guess I was just expecting too much about a project that is very "sensible" which means improvements are rare, often postponed and no risk at all can be taken. So not much possibility to explore anything interesting (compare to what I can read on Hashnode almost every day)

The tech stack is boring because it is using Angular 6 at 1/5 and the rest is angular-js for the frontend side, and on the backend side it is Java Spring 4 that we migrated to 5 and java 7 to 8 in the first month of the year. For a project that has been started in 2017, the "game" is to migrate java > spring > hibernate then repeat. What I have been doing the most this year was applying some fast feature patches, bug fixing, last library migration, and CVE which was not funny at all.

Thanks to the community, the more I read about other dev experiences and the more I can figure out where I stand and what direction I want to take. I just need one more push to take the move \o/

My experiences from 2022

I participate in the following hackathons:

  1. Netlify x Hashnode Hackathon

  2. Hasura x Hashnode Hackathon

  3. PlanetScale x Hashnode Hackathon

I attend the StarknetCC conference in Lisbon during Lisbon blockchain week and it was a great surprise to see and listen to people building cool stuff. The talks were interesting and I participate for the first time in a CTF.

Consider the challenges you faced

Passing the Angular certification was the challenge of the year for me.

Giving 30 hours of my time in a month to grind the most of the knowledge about Javascript, Typescript, Angular, and RxJS was very hard cause there is a massive amount of resources to read/watch, practice to do, then remember and be able to use all of this knowledge for the test and the project to build.

Lessons learned

  1. I am made for a strict routine such as "doing this every day" rather than a flexible routine so I am thinking to go back to this kind of routine to be more diligent with doing my tasks (shorter or less complex if needed) about learning.

  2. There are people building seems to be very invested (especially in web3 regarding the StarnetCC conference I attended in Lisbon) and that makes me happy to know that they are people who are not just doing a boring job but like to build systems.

Accomplishments achieved

  • Wrote 44 weekly recap

  • Made around 50 personal projects on GitHub this year

  • Participate in 3 Hashnode Hackathons

  • Pass the Angular Intermediate level certification with success

  • Attended my first blockchain meetup in Lisbon

  • Started to learn about web3 with Solidity and followed many Encode conferences

  • Contribute to open-source projects

Recap

I will keep exploring, learning, progressing on other stacks and trying out every little thing that catches my interest and I hope to keep feeding my curiosity next year. I hope next year will bring me closer to finding some change for the best.

Peace!